← Back to source-backed records

Ingredient name record

Azelaic Acid

Korean search label: 아젤라익애씨드

Evidence at a glance

Evidence coverage, not an efficacy or safety score.

Identity & coverage details

Official CosIng inventory context recorded; chemical identity and the complete current regulatory profile remain unverified; selected human studies available.

Recorded presence is not a safety rating, recommended dose or benefit claim.

Identity and formulation context

Names are indexed using case and whitespace normalization. Botanical, chemical and marketing identities have not been independently equated.

These are drug-treatment studies in melasma or rosacea. Concentrations and schedules describe experiments, not cosmetic recommendations. No transfer to potassium azeloyl diglycinate or a finished Treatfolio product is established.

Discovery spellings and aliases

azelaic · azelaic acid · azelaic acid 10% · 아젤라산 · 아젤라익 · 아젤라익 애씨드 · 아젤라익애씨드

Search-only metadata; an alias is not proof of chemical equivalence.

Functions listed by CosIng

BUFFERINGFRAGRANCE

Inventory functions describe the ingredient entry, not a finished product’s effects.

How this inventory match is used

The European Commission’s CosIng inventory is informational. An entry is not permission to use an ingredient or a safety assessment. Listed functions describe the inventory entry; they do not establish a finished product’s effects. The match uses the exact ingredient name, with case and whitespace normalization.

AZELAIC ACID · Inventory identifiers
Inventory record
74538 · Active
CAS identifiers in this entry
123-99-9
EC identifiers in this entry
204-669-1

Checked 2026-10-02 · Read the official CosIng entry

Human study context

Primary publications checked 2026-10-02. These are selected studies, not a systematic review, safety rating or instructions for using a product.

The treatment of melasma. 20% azelaic acid versus 4% hydroquinone cream

1991 · Original abstract reviewed

Material tested
20% azelaic acid cream, compared with 4% hydroquinone cream; both accompanied by broad-spectrum sunscreen.
Study design
Double-blind active-comparator study.
Participants
329 women with melasma.
Concentration and schedule in the study
24 weeks; application frequency is not given in the abstract.
What the authors reported
The azelaic-acid group had good or excellent overall ratings in 65% of cases. Overall rating, lesion-size reduction and pigmentation changes did not differ significantly between groups.

What this does not establish

  • Concurrent sunscreen and the active comparator prevent isolation against an untreated control.
  • This was disease treatment with 20% cream, not a test of cosmetic serums or azelaic-acid derivatives.
  • No observed severe reactions in this study does not establish universal safety.

Read the original publication

A phase 3 randomized, double-blind, vehicle-controlled trial of azelaic acid foam 15% in the treatment of papulopustular rosacea

2015 · Original abstract reviewed

Material tested
15% azelaic acid foam compared with foam vehicle.
Study design
Randomized, double-blind, multicenter phase 3 vehicle-controlled trial.
Participants
Patients with papulopustular rosacea; sample size is not stated in the abstract.
Concentration and schedule in the study
Twice-daily study application; treatment duration is not stated in the abstract.
What the authors reported
Investigator-rated treatment success and inflammatory-lesion reduction were greater with the active foam than vehicle. Reported drug-related adverse events were mainly local skin reactions of mild-to-moderate severity.

What this does not establish

  • A medicinal foam for diagnosed rosacea is not interchangeable with a cosmetic serum.
  • The abstract omits sample size and duration; the full protocol was not reviewed.

Read the original publication

Still unverified
  • This is a selected partial literature record, not a systematic review or a complete scientific profile.
  • Cosmetic functions and jurisdiction-specific restrictions are not established by these research abstracts.
  • Study preparations have not been matched to any Treatfolio product, batch, market or concentration.
  • Chemical identity, the complete current regulatory profile and finished-product effects remain unverified.

Search interest & consumer questions

Explore dated interest, supplier activity and selected discussions. Topic labels do not establish ingredient equivalence or product effects.

Products with recorded occurrences

20 product records. Matches include reviewed amount annotations where available. Open a product to see the original source token, market and date.

Photo unavailableAnua · Serum mist / sprayPDRN Collagen Glow Facial Serum Spray Mini2 formula records · Observed 2026-08-15Official instructions · Checked 2026-10-02Firming Serum (with Retinal 0.1%) — official product photograph; package size unconfirmedHaruharu Wonder · Face serumFirming Serum (with Retinal 0.1%)2 formula records · Observed 2026-08-15Official instructions · Checked 2026-10-02Azelaic 10 Hyaluron Redness Soothing Pad — official product photograph; package size unconfirmedAnua · Hydrating tonerAzelaic 10 Hyaluron Redness Soothing Pad1 formula record · Observed 2026-08-15Official instructions · Checked 2026-10-02Azelaic 3 Cica Skin Clarifying Toner — official product photograph; package size unconfirmedAnua · Hydrating tonerAzelaic 3 Cica Skin Clarifying Toner1 formula record · Observed 2026-08-15Official instructions · Checked 2026-10-02Azelaic Acid 10 Hyaluron Redness Soothing Serum — official product photograph; package size unconfirmedAnua · Face serumAzelaic Acid 10 Hyaluron Redness Soothing Serum1 formula record · Observed 2026-08-15Official instructions · Checked 2026-10-02COSRX Azelaic Acid 10 B5 Redness Soothing Cream — official product photograph; package size unconfirmedCOSRX · Face creamCOSRX Azelaic Acid 10 B5 Redness Soothing Cream1 formula record · Observed 2026-08-15Official instructions · Checked 2026-10-02Soothing Serum — official product photograph; package size unconfirmedHaruharu Wonder · Face serumSoothing Serum1 formula record · Observed 2026-08-15Official instructions · Checked 2026-10-02Mary&May Spicule Azelaic PDRN Spot Cream — official product photograph; package size unconfirmedMary&May · Face creamMary&May Spicule Azelaic PDRN Spot Cream1 formula record · Observed 2026-08-20Official instructions · Checked 2026-10-02Azelaic Acid 10 Ampoule — official product photograph; package size unconfirmedSKIN1004 · Ampoule / boosterAzelaic Acid 10 Ampoule1 formula record · Observed 2026-08-15Official instructions · Checked 2026-10-028 Hyaluronic Acid Hydrating Gentle Foaming Cleanser — official product photograph; package size unconfirmedAnua · Foam cleanser8 Hyaluronic Acid Hydrating Gentle Foaming Cleanser1 formula record · Observed 2026-08-15Official instructions · Checked 2026-10-02Azelaic Acid CICA Skin Soothing Moisturizer — official product photograph; package size unconfirmedAnua · Face creamAzelaic Acid CICA Skin Soothing Moisturizer1 formula record · Observed 2026-08-15Official instructions · Checked 2026-10-02PDRN Lip Serum — official product photograph; package size unconfirmedAnua · Lip balm / treatmentPDRN Lip Serum1 formula record · Observed 2026-08-15Official instructions · Checked 2026-10-02Ultra-Thin Spot Cover Patch — official product photograph; package size unconfirmedAnua · Pimple / spot patchUltra-Thin Spot Cover Patch1 formula record · Observed 2026-08-15Official instructions · Checked 2026-10-02Azelaic Acid 16 Calming Serum — official product photograph; package size unconfirmedmedicube · Face serumAzelaic Acid 16 Calming Serum1 formula record · Observed 2026-08-20Official instructions · Checked 2026-10-02Azelaic Acid Cleansing Oil — official product photograph; package size unconfirmedVT Cosmetics · Cleansing oilAzelaic Acid Cleansing Oil1 formula record · Observed 2026-08-20Official instructions · Checked 2026-10-02Clear spot serum 7.325 pump — official product photograph; package size unconfirmedAbib · Face serumClear spot serum 7.325 pump2 formula records · Observed 2026-08-20Azelaic Acid 12% Serum — official product photograph; package size unconfirmedTIRTIR · Face serumAzelaic Acid 12% Serum1 formula record · Observed 2026-08-20Heartleaf Pore Cleansing Oil Mild — official product photograph; package size unconfirmedAnua · Cleansing oilHeartleaf Pore Cleansing Oil Mild1 formula record · Observed 2026-08-15Rumi Ultra-thin Spot Cover Patch (55ea) — official product photograph; package size unconfirmedAnua · Pimple / spot patchRumi Ultra-thin Spot Cover Patch (55ea)1 formula record · Observed 2026-08-15Rumi Ultra-thin Spot Cover Patch with Case (28ea) — official product photograph; package size unconfirmedAnua · Pimple / spot patchRumi Ultra-thin Spot Cover Patch with Case (28ea)1 formula record · Observed 2026-08-15

Related product examples are shown above. Search all recorded products.